Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:20 pm
India got defeated by Bangladesh in the Asia Cup finals yesterday. The match was a nail-biting one and till the last ball, it was worth seeing who will win.
In every match, some or the other controversy happens; in yesterday’s match, it was Anuja Patil’s run-out. Yes, there was a debate surrounding “Obstruction of field” rule. In the 9th over, Anuja Patil and Harmanpreet Kaur were batting.
There seemed to be a mix-up between the two; Anuja returned to the crease and there was a slight change in her direction. The fielder tried to throw the ball on the stumps, but it hit Anuja’s leg. She returned to the crease & got safe.
Bangladesh appealed that Anuja had obstructed the field. There were many replays & after that, 3rd umpire gave her an out.
Here’s the ICC rule;
37.1.1 Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also Law 34 (Hit the ball twice).
https://www.rvcj.com/anuja-patil-gets-o ... s-divided/