unintentional obstruction

This is the forum for discussion of all cricketing issues and news. Here you will find frank analysis and opinion on subjects ranging from selection policies, favourite cricketers and match post-mortems right through to dressing room and cricket board fiascos.
User avatar
Going South
Muppet Administrator
Muppet Administrator
Posts: 26935
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:10 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Reputation: 0
United States of America

unintentional obstruction

Postby Going South » Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:20 pm

Image

India got defeated by Bangladesh in the Asia Cup finals yesterday. The match was a nail-biting one and till the last ball, it was worth seeing who will win.

In every match, some or the other controversy happens; in yesterday’s match, it was Anuja Patil’s run-out. Yes, there was a debate surrounding “Obstruction of field” rule. In the 9th over, Anuja Patil and Harmanpreet Kaur were batting.

There seemed to be a mix-up between the two; Anuja returned to the crease and there was a slight change in her direction. The fielder tried to throw the ball on the stumps, but it hit Anuja’s leg. She returned to the crease & got safe.

Bangladesh appealed that Anuja had obstructed the field. There were many replays & after that, 3rd umpire gave her an out.

Here’s the ICC rule;

37.1.1 Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of 37.2, and while the ball is in play, he/she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action. See also Law 34 (Hit the ball twice).

https://www.rvcj.com/anuja-patil-gets-o ... s-divided/

User avatar
Going South
Muppet Administrator
Muppet Administrator
Posts: 26935
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:10 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Reputation: 0
United States of America

Re: unintentional obstruction

Postby Going South » Mon Jun 11, 2018 12:23 pm

i say it should be not out. if the runner is looking at the ball coming towards her then out. if not looking and the ball hits on back it’s not out.

User avatar
squarecut
CF Senior
CF Senior
Posts: 2303
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:06 am
Cash on hand: Locked
Reputation: 3
India

Re: unintentional obstruction

Postby squarecut » Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:23 pm

Indian women team seriously needs to get its act together. They have become complacent after reaching the final of world cup last year.Losing twice to Bangladesh is one tournament is unacceptable. Unlike male cricketers, who after losing once to Bangladesh would make sure that they would not lose again throughout the decade, the Female cricketers of India seem to have little pride and resolve upholding their proud record in Asia Cup. They had never lost a match in Asia cup till this tournament.

User avatar
raja
Muppet Administrator
Muppet Administrator
Posts: 29575
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:14 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Reputation: 0
Pakistan

Re: unintentional obstruction

Postby raja » Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:08 pm

Going South wrote:i say it should be not out. if the runner is looking at the ball coming towards her then out. if not looking and the ball hits on back it’s not out.

Not able to play the video in the link - and I didn't see the game, so this comment has to be seen in this context.
If it was "wilful attempt to obstruct", then yes.
If she just turned to get back to her crease, and the ball hit her leg while she was heading back, no way is that wilful!

User avatar
Katto
CF Champion
CF Champion
Posts: 16096
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:34 pm
Cash on hand: Locked
Reputation: 0
Tuvalu

Re: unintentional obstruction

Postby Katto » Mon Jun 11, 2018 3:23 pm

100% obstruction and 100% intentional

look where the popping crease is in the first image and look how far she's gone to the right in the second and even further in the third

that's nearly 2 metres off the original line