Kock Dominates Proteas Awards

This is the forum for discussion of all cricketing issues and news. Here you will find frank analysis and opinion on subjects ranging from selection policies, favourite cricketers and match post-mortems right through to dressing room and cricket board fiascos.
CF Senior
CF Senior
Posts: 4171
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2016 7:13 am
Cash on hand: Locked
Bank: Locked
Reputation: 0

Kock Dominates Proteas Awards

Postby Misty » Sun May 14, 2017 4:22 am

:popcorn: :rj: :dance:

De Kock dominates SA's awards

He deserved, he is more dependable in world of cricket than even player with 100 test Career :lolup:

Quinton de Kock has impressed in front and behind the stumps

Quinton de Kock has been named South African Cricketer of the Year and also picked up four other titles at the annual awards.

De Kock's haul was one short of the six prizes handed to Kagiso Rabada last year. As well as being named Test Cricketer and ODI Cricketer of the Year, de Kock also earned the Players' Player of the Year and the Fan's Player of the Year. Imran Tahir was named the T20I Cricketer of the Year.

Award winners
•SA Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
•Test Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
•ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
•T20 International Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir
•SA Players' Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock
•SA Fans' Player of the Year: Quinton de Kock
• Award of Excellence: Temba Bavuma
•Delivery of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
•International Newcomer of the Year: Keshav Maharaj
•Women's Cricketer of the Year: Sune Luus
•Women's Players' Player of the Year: Lizelle Lee
•Women's Newcomer of the Year: Laura Wolvaardt
•First-class Cricketer of the Season: Duanne Olivier
•List A Cricketer of the Season: Henry Davids
•T20 Challenge Player of the Season: Farhaan Behardien
•Coach of the Year: Mark Boucher
•Domestic Players' Player of the Season: Colin Ackermann
•Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Aiden Markram
•Africa T20 Cup Player of the Tournament: Patrick Kruger
•SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Colin Ackermann

Sune Luus was named Women's Cricketer of the Year and their Players' Player award went to Lizelle Lee. The international newcomer awards went to Keshav Maharaj and Laura Wolvaardt.

De Kock's year included a career-best ODI score of 178 against Australia as well as his Test century in Hobart which helped clinch the series victory last November. Tahir's T20 exploits included a career-best 5 for 24 against New Zealand at Eden Park.

Temba Bavuma and Rabada earned acknowledgment for individual moments of brilliance, which both came in the same match: Bavuma for his run out of David Warner at Perth and Rabada for the delivery which bowled Usman Khawaja.

"What a year Quinton has had," Haroon Lorgat, the CSA chief executive, said. "He has shown the maturity of a seasoned campaigner with performances that have really counted when needed most, often blowing away the opposition in the process.

"It is encouraging that for the second time in a row our premier award has gone to one of our young stars who is shining with distinction alongside our world-class senior players.

"The way the Proteas have come through to rise up the ICC rankings, in meteoric fashion, has been quite brilliant and we now have a real team in the true sense of the word.

"Our domestic cricket remains blessed with great talents. Congratulations to all the winners in those categories as well.

"I warmly congratulate all our winners, both at international and domestic level, and I also wish to take this opportunity to acknowledge our umpires, grounds staff and scorers, too."

On the domestic scene, Duanne Olivier, who made his Test debut against Sri Lanka, was named Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Year, Henry Davids took the one-day award and Farhaan Behardien the T20 honour.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/southafrica ... 97632.html