Moeen/ Bairstow & Roy Picked For White ball Camp

This forum contains topics related to general cricket news
Post Reply
VIP User
VIP User
Posts: 1706
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 7:32 am
Location: india

Moeen/ Bairstow & Roy Picked For White ball Camp

Post by Harmer »

Bairstow, Moeen Ali included in white-ball training group

July 09 2020
Moeen Ali and Jonny Bairstow have been included in a 24-man white-ball training group
After being left out of England's Test squad for the series against West Indies, Moeen Ali and Jonny Bairstow have been included in a 24-man white-ball training group ahead of the three match ODI series against Ireland later this month but, as expected, the likes of Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Jofra Archer have not been included.

The first ODI against Ireland will be played on July 30 at the Ageas Bowl, the day after the Test series against West Indies is set to conclude in Manchester, and the third game, scheduled for August 4, is the day before England take on Pakistan in the first of three Tests. The packed schedule means England's multi-format players, which also includes Chris Woakes, Joe Root and Mark Wood, will not take any part in the ODIs against Ireland.

As a result, the 24-man training group, which will be led by Eoin Morgan, presents an opportunity for a number of fringe players to press their claims alongside some of England's established white-ball players. At present, only Lancashire quick Saqib Mahmood, who is currently one of the reserves for the West Indies Test series, will transfer from the red-ball bubble to the white-ball party.

Ben Duckett, Reece Topley, Liam Livingstone and Liam Dawson have all been included after spells out of contention while the likes of batsmen Tom Banton, all-rounder Lewis Gregory and leg-spinner Matthew Parkinson are included after making their England debuts during the winter. James Vince, Sam Billings and David Willey, the unluckiest player left out of last summer's World Cup squad, are also included.

There are seven uncapped players in the training group, including Warwickshire's Sam Hain, who averages 59.78 in List A cricket, Sussex's opener Phil Salt and a quartet of new fast-bowlers in Henry Brookes, Tom Helm, Brydon Carse and Richard Gleeson. Worcestershire's Pat Brown (back), Sussex's Chris Jordan (right arm) and Yorkshire's Dawid Malan (right calf) were not considered for selection due to injury.

The group will go into camp at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton on July 16 under the same bio-secure bubble conditions that England's red-ball squad has lived under for the past three weeks. The white-ball group will play two intra-squad warm-up matches on July 21 and 24 following which a final squad for the three ODIs will be announced.

As previously confirmed, England assistant Coach Paul Collingwood will assume the head coach role for the series to allow Chris Silverwood some time off. Collingwood will be supported by Marcus Trescothick as batting coach, who has been seconded from Somerset, and England Young Lions coach Jon Lewis as the fast-bowling coach. Lewis will be supported by Neil Killeen from Durham.

Former Durham head coach and former Sri Lanka batting coach Jon Lewis will also join the enlarged coaching set-up as batting coach, working alongside Trescothick, while former South African left-arm spinner Claude Henderson has been appointed spin bowling coach. Former Essex wicketkeeper James Foster will take responsibility for the wicketkeepers.

ECB Performance Director, Mo Bobat, said: "As was the case with our Test preparations, the support that we have received from counties during our ODI return to training phase has been fantastic. Running concurrent training programmes across formats for a large pool of players has been a novel challenge and we are very appreciative of the commitment that counties have shown towards the national cause, particularly as they have been managing their own return to training."

Behind-Closed-Doors ODI Training Group:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Henry Brookes (Warwickshire), Brydon Carse (Durham), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Laurie Evans (Sussex), Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Sam Hain (Warwickshire), Tom Helm (Middlesex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Matthew Parkinson (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Phil Salt (Sussex), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire).

Ⓒ Cricbuzz

on & after july 24 eng will announces team for 3 ODI vs Ireland
Post Reply