Australias Hall of Fame ( From 2001.....Till now

This forum contains topics related to general cricket news
Post Reply
World Cup 2021
VIP User
VIP User
Posts: 523
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2021 1:58 pm

Australias Hall of Fame ( From 2001.....Till now

Post by World Cup 2021 »


Merv Hughes inducted to Australian Cricket Hall of Fame

February 02 2021


Hughes played 53 Tests for Australia.

Former fast bowler Merv Hughes has become the latest inductee into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame. In an international career spanning nine years, the burly Victorian with his famous handlebar moustache represented the national team in 53 Tests taking 212 wickets. He also played 33 ODIs including the 1992 World Cup at home.

"To come in alongside some of the names that are in there is overwhelming and I'm a little bit emotional," Hughes said on Tuesday. "Now 26 years after I finished playing, to still be recognised, it has blown me away. It's very humbling."

In a first class career spanning 14 seasons and 165 matches, Hughes took 593 wickets including 21 five-wicket hauls at an average of 29.39. He is perhaps best remembered for a sensational 8 for 87 against the West Indies at the WACA, Perth in 1988 which included a hat-trick spread across three separate overs and two innings. That he achieved his feat after losing bowling partner Geoff Lawson to a broken jaw underscored his ability to hold a bowling attack together.

A Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1994, Hughes also represented Victoria, Essex, and the ACT and post his playing career transitioned into cricket administration, serving as the national team's selector between 2005 and 2010.

"Merv Hughes was an icon of the Australian summer for so many of us, a larger-than-life personality, a wonderful international cricketer, an ambassador for the sport and a deserved inductee into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame," said Peter King, Australian Cricket Hall of Fame Chairman. "A lion-hearted competitor, Merv boasts a proud career for Victoria and Australia in the Test and One Day International arenas, paving the way for an incredible era of Australian cricketing dominance.

"Even as synonymous as his on-field record, Merv will be forever remembered as a fan-favourite and his iconic warm-ups close to the boundary, especially at the MCG, that prompted bays of spectators to join in with him at stadiums all over the country. He has left his legacy on the sport in post-career mentorship with modern-day teams, administration roles as a National Selector and the heartbeat of Australian cricket. The Australian Cricket Hall of Fame is delighted to recognise Merv Hughes."

Previous Hall of Fame Inductees:

1996 - Fred Spofforth, John Blackham, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett, Bill Ponsford, Sir Donald Bradman, Bill O'Reilly, Keith Miller, Ray Lindwall and Dennis Lillee

2000 - Warwick Armstrong, Neil Harvey and Allan Border

2001 - Bill Woodfull and Arthur Morris

2002 - Stan McCabe and Greg Chappell

2003 - Lindsay Hassett and Ian Chappell

2004 - Hugh Trumble and Alan Davidson

2005 - Clem Hill and Rod Marsh

2006 - Monty Noble and Bob Simpson

2007 - Charles Macartney and Richie Benaud

2008 - George Giffen and Ian Healy

2009 - Steve Waugh

2010 - Bill Lawry and Graham McKenzie

2011 - Mark Taylor and Doug Walters

2012 - Shane Warne

2013 - Charlie Turner and Glenn McGrath

2014 - Mark Waugh and Belinda Clark

2015 - Adam Gilchrist and Jack Ryder

2016 - Jeff Thomson and Wally Grout

2017 - David Boon, Matthew Hayden and Betty Wilson

2018 - Norm O'Neill, Ricky Ponting and Karen Rolton

2019 - Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Dean Jones and Billy Murdoch

2020 - Sharon Tredrea and Craig McDermott

Ⓒ Cricbuzz
Post Reply